Diablo 4 Necromancer Guide: Book of the Dead Explained - Prima Games

Diablo 4 Necromancer Guide: Book of the Dead Explained

Make your army even stronger!

by Madison Benson
Diablo 4 Necromancer Guide Book of the Dead Explained

If you played Diablo 4 during the original March Early Access period, you might already be familiar with the first three classes – Barbarian, Sorcerer and Rogue. Since then, the game has introduced new ones, including the powerful Necromancer, capable of summoning undead hordes to fight. The Necromancer uses its trusty Book of the Dead to strengthen its undead army, raising one important question: What even is this book? If you’d like to learn more, continue reading to find a comprehensive guide on the Necromancer’s Book of the Dead, including how to access and use it.

Diablo 4 Necromancer Book of the Dead Guide – Units and Traits Explained

The Book of the Dead is a Necromancer-exclusive class skill allowing you to upgrade your undead units directly. You can press Shift + C if you’re using keyboard and mouse or RB on a controller to access the menu. Alternatively, you can head into your inventory and find it between Character and Abilities.

Related: Is It Better to Sell or Salvage Gear in Diablo 4? – Answered

You’ll find options for three different units from here, starting with Skeletal Warriors and progressing to Mages and Golems. You’ll unlock more as you level up your character, which you can change and upgrade from the first Book of the Dead menu screen. Each unit type has unique abilities and perks you can unlock as you level up your character.

Upgrading Your Undead Army in the Diablo 4 Book of the Dead

You can access their upgrade menus after selecting one of these unit types. Like before, you’ll gain more perks as you level up your character, allowing you to power up your undead units. These upgrades range from summoning additional skeletons to increasing their damage. If you’d like, you can also sacrifice the units to strengthen your character, gaining perks along the way. You can select only one upgrade for each tier but swap between them whenever you’d like.

Book of the Dead Upgrades Menus Diablo 4

Related: How to Swap Weapons in Diablo 4

Using the Book of the Dead, you can significantly alter the type of units you can summon using the raise skeleton spell you unlock at the beginning of the game. If you’re not interested in this, you can instead boost your character’s stats and focus on a spellcasting-oriented build, with the sacrifices helping you inflict more damage.

Diablo 4 is available on PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X|S. To learn more about the game, check out what is Overpower damage in Diablo 4 or click the Diablo IV tag below to browse our entire content library!

About The Author

Madison Benson

Madison is a writer who has played video games for over twenty years. When she isn't playing games on her PC, she's hanging out with her dogs and rabbits.

More Stories by Madison Benson