Warhammer 40K: Darktide Difficulty Levels Explained - Prima Games

Warhammer 40K: Darktide Difficulty Levels Explained

Going from worthless heretics to eternal damnation.

by Shawn Robinson
Warhammer 40K: Darktide Fighting

Warhammer 40K: Darktide, like its predecessor, isn’t the easiest game you can play. Sure, if you’re playing on the easiest of difficulties you won’t have much trouble. Once you go into the higher difficulties though, teamwork and communication are almost necessary unless you’re looking for failure. Each of the difficulties can be somewhat confusing, and arguably misleading for when they’re unlocked. Here’s what each Warhammer 40K: Darktide difficulty level is, and around what power level you should dabble in them.

Each Darktide Difficulty Level Explained

Image via Prima Games.

In total, Darktide supports five levels of difficulty with each offering significantly more challenge than the last. They are as follows:

  • Sedition: Starting with the first of five difficulty levels, this is the easiest of the bunch. You should only play this difficulty for your first game as a particular character, or if you want a very easy experience with little difficulty.
  • Uprising: The second of five difficulty levels, this difficulty brings a fair challenge to players who somewhat know their characters. You’ll be spending a lot of time here, as we’d suggest playing this difficulty until at least level 10 (level 15 if you want to feel comfortable in it).
  • Malice: Sitting in the middle of the pack at number three, this difficulty brings a fair amount of challenge without being too, too challenging. This is where you should spend the majority of your remaining levels, power leveling, and getting better gear.
  • Heresy: The second to last difficulty level, this difficulty brings some serious challenge. You can attempt this when close to max level, but we suggest waiting until you’re at least max before even considering trying Heresy. It might unlock at trust level 6, but you will be annihilated if you try it at that level.
  • Damnation: The final difficulty of all levels, this will test even the most experienced of players. If you’re going to head into this difficulty, make sure you have a group of expert teammates at max level behind you. Your patience will be tested, but it could net you some solid rewards.

Related: What is the Best Class in Warhammer 40K: Darktide? – Answered

That’s all five difficulties you’ll be dabbling in within Darktide. As said, the difficulty unlock requirements are incredibly misleading, so trust us when we say to be patient and work on increasing the power of your character. You’ll thank us later.