Diablo 4 Renown System and Rewards Explained

Diablo 4 Renown System and Rewards Explained

Get rewarded for exploration

There are tons of ways you can strengthen your character in Diablo 4. While the most basic methods are to upgrade your equipment and unlock more spells, you can deep dive into using aspects, character specializations and other systems to maximize your character’s potential. One example is the Renown System, rewarding you for discovering new areas, exploring dungeons and finding other interesting landmarks in particular regions. If you would like to learn more, continue reading to discover a comprehensive guide on Diablo 4’s Renown System, including how to earn renown and every reward you can get.

Recommended Videos

Diablo 4 Renown System, Tiers and All Rewards Explained

The Renown system in Diablo 4 is a way to encourage you to explore different regions in Sanctuary, providing you with various rewards after reaching each milestone. Every major area in the game has its own renown count, with Fractured Peaks being the first you will find when you start the game. You can initially unlock the first three renown milestones in any region, with the remaining two accessible after playing on World Tier 3.

You can access the Renown menu by heading into your map and pressing the View Rewards key/button. These buttons are the W key on your keyboard, the triangle button for PlayStation and Y button for Xbox controllers. Here, you will find your region progress, including a list of every reward you can obtain.

How to Get Renown in Diablo 4

There are six ways to earn renown in Diablo 4:

  • Discover Waypoints
  • Conquer Strongholds
  • Complete side quests
  • Discover new areas
  • Clear side dungeons
  • Find Altars of Lilith

Each of these gives different renown values but will all add to a total count. You can see your total renown by hovering over a region in the map menu.

Related: How to Defeat The Butcher in Diablo 4

If you would like to start collecting renown early, we are here to help you find every Fractured Peaks Altar of Lilith and Waypoint in Fractured Peaks.

All Renown Rewards in Diablo 4

Renown Rewards Menu in Diablo 4

You can obtain two reward types through renown: Character-specific rewards and ones that apply to all characters. You will also find five tiers, with the last two requiring World Tier 3 to collect.

Below is a list of all the Renown rewards you can obtain in each region:

Tier One

  • Bonus XP
  • 3,000 Gold
  • + One Skill Point (All Characters)

Tier Two

  • Bonus XP
  • 10,000 Gold
  • + One Potion Capacity (All Characters)

Tier Three

  • Bonus XP
  • 25,000 Gold
  • + One Skill Point (All Characters)

Tier Four

  • Bonus XP
  • 60,000 Gold
  • +80 Max Obols (All Characters)

Tier Five

  • Bonus XP
  • 150,000 Gold
  • + Four Paragon Points (All Characters)

Diablo 4 is available on PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X|S. To learn more about the game, check out all Aspects in Diablo 4 listed, or click the Diablo IV tag below to explore our entire content collection!

Prima Games is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Madison Benson
Madison Benson
Madison was a staff writer at Prima Games who has played video games for over twenty years and written about them for over two years. Her love for video games started with turn-based strategy games like Heroes of Might and Magic and has since extended to casual farming sims, MMORPGs, and action-adventure RPGs.