All God of War Ragnarok Difficulty Levels – Explained

How hard can it be? You just need to kill some Gods.

All God of War Ragnarok Difficulty Levels - Explained

The new God of War is here! Are you ready to get into another epic adventure with Kratos and Atreus? After the events of the previous game, Fimbulwinter has taken over the world and everything you leveled and collected in the 2018 God of War has lost its power now – a great reason to start leveling new gear and skills from the beginning. In any case, whatever your previous God of War experience, when you start Ragnarok for the first time you will have a choice of difficulty – but which one should you choose? Check out our explanation below for all God of War Ragnarok difficulty levels.

Related: God of War: Ragnarok’s Metacritic Score is Out – Where Does the Game Rank in the Series?

All God of War Ragnarok Difficulty Levels

God of War Ragnarok offers five difficulty levels that you can choose from when you first start the game, let’s check them out.

Give Me Story – The lowest level of difficulty, for all players who just want to follow the story. Opponents and even bosses still won’t fall from just one hit, but many safety net systems exist here, so you can get to the end of the story without much effort.

Give Me Grace – If the previous level of difficulty was equivalent to “Very Easy” mode, this would be “Easy”. There is some fair challenge here, but for veterans, it can be, well… too easy.

Give Me Balance – This is the default difficulty level AKA “Normal”, exactly how the authors envisioned God of War Ragnarok to be experienced, at least on the first playthrough.

Give Me No Mercy – Enemies are harder from the start and the challenge is much greater. This is the real “Hard” mode for players who have already finished the game or some brave souls who just want to be some real try-hards from the start.

Give Me God of War – Start the game for the first time on this difficulty only if you are a glutton for punishment. Opponents are mega-aggressive here and will get you killed extremely easily. This is a great challenging mode but only for possible New Game+ runs and expert players who already know the game in great detail.

That’s all of the available difficulty settings in God of War Ragnarok that can change the game experience drastically, so find the one that suits you best and have fun; those Norse Gods ain’t gonna kill themselves.

For more God of War Ragnarok here on Prima Games, check out How Big is God of War Ragnarok? File Size Guide, God of War Ragnarok All 4 Different Graphic Modes – Explained, and God of War Jotnar Edition: All In-Game and Physical Items Revealed.

About the Author

Nikola "Nick" Jovanovic

Nick has been a Prima Games Staff Writer since May 2022, an old-school gamer, and a gamer journalist with over 25 years of expertise. Our resident micro-influencer from Serbia! When he's not driving through Belgrade, he's probably racing in Gran Turismo or Forza, playing some strange JRPG games or just watching pro wrestling.