The Horror Game Awards Nominees Listed

Every nominee in the upcoming horror-exclusive gaming award show

When it comes to award shows, horror always seems to get the short end of the stick. Far too often, the genre’s films, television shows, and (most importantly) videogames have been frequently snubbed by mainstream critics, missing out on well-deserved accolades. However, one upcoming event is set to buck this trend, as The Horror Game Awards will honor the greatest spooky videogames of the past year on September 7, 2023. Here are the nominees of the first annual Horror Game Awards, along with related links to Prima Games’ reviews, analysis, and features on the scary contenders.

Recommended Videos

Horror Game Awards Complete List of Nominees

Image Courtesy of the Horror Game Awards

Horror Game of the Year

Best Character

  • Elster – SIGNALIS
  • Isaac Clarke – Dead Space
  • Jacob Lee – The Callisto Protocol
  • Leon Kennedy – Resident Evil 4
  • Olle – Bramble: The Mountain King

Related: Defending The Callisto Protocol: Why 2022’s Most Controversial Game Isn’t as Bad as You Think

Best Narrative

  • Burnhouse Lane
  • Decarnation
  • Immortality
  • SCP: Secret Files

Best Game Design

  • Amnesia: The Bunker
  • Faith: The Unholy Trinity
  • Resident Evil 4

Best Art Direction

Best Score/Soundtrack

  • Amnesia: The Bunker
  • Bramble: The Mountain King
  • The Callisto Protocol
  • Resident Evil 4

Related: Scariest Monsters of the Resident Evil 4 Remake, Ranked

Best Audio Design

  • Amnesia: The Bunker
  • The Callisto Protocol
  • Dead Space
  • Scorn
  • System Shock

Best Performance

  • Nick Apostolides – Resident Evil 4
  • Manon Gage – Immortality
  • Nola Klop – Bramble: The Mountain King
  • Charlotta Mohlin – Immortality
  • Gunner Wright – Dead Space

Best Indie Horror

  • Decarnation
  • Faith: The Unholy Trinity
  • SCP: Secret Files

Best Horror Trailer

  • The Callisto Protocol
  • Scorn
  • SCP: The Secret Files
  • Silent Hill 2
  • Silent Hill f

Best VR/AR

  • Afterlife VR
  • The Dark Pictures: Switchback VR
  • Propagation: Paradise Hotel
  • Resident Evil Village VR
  • The Walking Dead: Saints & Sinners – Chapter 2: Retribution

Best Horror Multiplayer

  • Dead Island 2
  • Demonologist
  • Evil Dead: The Game
  • The Outlast Trials
  • Sons of the Forest

Best Horror Content Creator

  • Gab Smolders
  • Pastra
  • Ragnarrox
  • Sagan Hawkes
  • The Sphere Hunter

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • TBD

In total, there are fourteen categories featured in the exciting new horror-themed award show, which can be voted on at the official Horror Game Awards website. SIGNALIS leads the pack with six nominations, followed closely behind by Bramble: The Mountain King, The Callisto Protocol, and Resident Evil 4, each tied with five, respectively.

For more horror articles on Prima Games, check out the pre order editions for the upcoming Alan Wake II.

Prima Games is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Grant Testa
Grant Testa
Grant Testa is a writer at Prima Games, who specializes in achievement hunting and horror gaming. He is also an avid comic book reader/collector, fantasy footballer, and rock music fanatic. Thousands who have been defeated by Grant in online multiplayer games have cried to themselves, wondering, "How did he get so good?! Why can't I be a gaming demigod like him?" They would probably be surprised to learn that Grant actually inherited his elite gaming skills from his mom, Joann Hansen, one of the speediest stenographers/typists in the nation, (and probably the world). Fun fact: he is also the son of the world’s first “let’s player” and comedy legend, Tim Testa.