World of Warcraft: Dragonflight Nightborne Race
Image via Blizzard Entertainment

How to Unlock the Nightborne in Dragonflight

Unlock a new Allied race you'll never see underneath a steel helm!

World of Warcraft features some of the most exciting race options in its character creation, with fan favorites like Blood Elves, Night Elves, and we cannot forget the Gnomes. But if you’re tired of playing the same race and class combination, like a Blood Elf Paladin, over and over, it’s time to shake things up by unlocking the Nightborne in Dragonflight!

Recommended Videos

Unlocking the Nightborne Race in Dragonflight

The Nightborne, an Allied Race on the side of the Horde, are elves of Suramar who evolved due to their dependency on arcane magic from the Nightwell. Introduced in World of Warcraft: Battle for Azeroth, the Nightborne quickly rose in popularity within the community, thanks to their unique racial mount and Heritage Armor, both of which look pretty dang cool.

To unlock the Nightborne, you’ll need to complete the following requirements:

  • Uniting the Isles: To complete this quest, raise the reputation of the Broken Isles to ‘Friendly.’
  • Nightfallen, But Not Forgotten Achievement: To unlock this achievement, you’ll need to complete a series of questlines, including Nightfall, Chief Telemancer Oculeth, Masquerade, Arcanist Kel’danath, Feeding Shal’Aran, and The Light Below.
  • Insurrection Achievement: To obtain the Insurrection achievement, you’ll first need to complete the primary Suramar story questline, which requires a few hours’ investment.
  • Allied Races: Nightborne: Once the Suramar quest is complete, you’ll have to finish the recruitment quest, which proves to the Nightborne that the Horde is the correct choice for an alliance.

Once you finish these two quest lines, the Allied Races: Nightborne achievement pops, and you’ll also receive a Shal’dorei Tabard and Nightborne Manasaber. Then, the next time you start an alt, you’ll have a chance to create a Nightborne.

Overall, unlocking the Nightborne requires a few hours of grinding. We’re playing an MMORPG, so what’s a few hours of questing?

Classes Available to the Nightborne

Nightborne Heritage Armor
Image via Blizzard Entertainment

Like all other available races in World of Warcraft, the Nightborne have specific classes available to them. These include:

  • Death Knight
  • Hunter
  • Mage
  • Monk
  • Priest
  • Rogue
  • Warlock
  • Warrior

It’s quite an excellent and varied selection, so anyone who wishes to main a Nightborne will have plenty of options for build diversity.

Prima Games is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Brandon Morgan
Brandon Morgan
Brandon began writing in 2012, for websites such as OnlySP, before transitioning to digital marketing in 2016 to learn the ins and outs of SEO. In mid-2023, Brandon returned to write strategy guides for Prima Games, IGN, DualShockers, and more, with a focus on ARPGs, RPGs, and Survival games. His past coverage includes Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty, Starfield, Skull and Bones, and many more!