With Fortnite playable on everything from PCs to PlayStation 4s, it’s very likely that some players are juggling between multiple accounts. But Epic Games is making things a little easier for its players by implementing a means of merging them all into a single giant account. If you need to merge accounts between Xbox and PS4 or any other platform combination, now you can do that. Read on to find out how to merge accounts in Fortnite.
The process is relatively painless and is the ideal solution for players who want to consolidate all their accounts to play only on a single platform. However, accounts must meet a few criteria before they can be merged. They are:
- At least one of the accounts must have been played on the PS4 and the other on the Xbox One or Nintendo Switch before September 28, 2019.
- None of the accounts can be banned or disabled.
- Players must have access to all the associated email addresses.
Certain aspects of the account merger are permanent, so pay close attention to which accounts you’re selecting throughout the process. You’ll need to designate a primary account and a secondary account. Everything from the secondary account will be moved to the primary one before it is disabled and deleted.
You’ll have to keep in mind that your in-game items and V-bucks will take two weeks to transfer over to your primary account. Also, fans of the Save the World mode might lose out a little from the transfer. Even though everything from Battle Royale mode will merge without issue, only select items from the PvE mode will be saved. They include heroes, defenders, llamas, survivors, survivors, XP, perk materials and evolution.
Things that won’t make it through the merger are the Save the World account level and progression, Unreal Marketplace items, and Creative Islands. Epic Games has provided a detailed rundown of how the process works along with a comprehensive list of items that will be kept and lost.
Here’s the step-by-step process for merging accounts.
- Visit the Fortnite Account Merge page.
- Select your primary account.
- Then sign in to the primary account.
- Select the secondary account that will be merged and disabled.
- Sign in to the secondary account.
- Double check to make sure you have the correct merging info.
- Verify the accounts via email.
- In two weeks, your items will arrive in your primary account.
Waiting might be the toughest part of the whole process, especially if there’s a lot of stuff in your inventory. But things should all work out in the end and you’ll have fewer Fortnite accounts to manage, leaving you with less hassle and a better overall gameplay experience.