Image Credit: Bethesda
Forgot password
Enter the email address you used when you joined and we'll send you instructions to reset your password.
If you used Apple or Google to create your account, this process will create a password for your existing account.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Reset password instructions sent. If you have an account with us, you will receive an email within a few minutes.
Something went wrong. Try again or contact support if the problem persists.

Every Past “Game of the Year” Winner at The Game Awards – Listed

A short history of The Game Awards "Game of the Year" champions

The Game Awards is back for its ninth annual ceremony honoring some of the best, most notable games and individuals in the industry, and is set to air on December 8, 2022. Today, on November 14, 2022, The Game Awards announced its six nominees for the premier honor of the presentation: the “game of the year” award with A Plague Tale: Requiem, Elden Ring, God of War: Ragnarok, Horizon Forbidden West, Stray, and Xenoblade Chronicles 3 battling for the top prize. While there will be endless speculation on which game will be crowned for the next month, this guide will take a trip down memory lane, looking at the history of The Game Awards, and seeing which games the 2022 champion will join in gaming immortality as a “Game of the Year Winner” at The Game Awards.

Recommended Videos

2014 Game of the Year – Dragon Age: Inquisition

2014 Nominees:

Bayonetta 2

Dark Souls II


Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor

2015 Game of the Year – The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt

2015 Nominees:


Fallout 4

Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain

Super Mario Maker

Related: The Six Game of the Year Nominees for The Game Awards 2022

2016 Game of the Year – Overwatch

2016 Nominees:



Titanfall 2

Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End

2017 Game of the Year – The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

2017 Nominees:

Horizon Zero Dawn

Persona 5

PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds

Super Mario Odyssey

2018 Game of the Year – God of War

2018 Nominees:

Assassin’s Creed Odyssey


Marvel’s Spider-Man

Monster Hunter: World

Red Dead Redemption 2

2019 Game of the Year – Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice

2019 Nominees:


Death Stranding

Resident Evil 2

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

The Outer Worlds

Related: How to Play the Soulsborne Games in Chronological Order

2020 Game of the Year – The Last of Us Part II

2020 Nominees:

Animal Crossing: New Horizons

Doom Eternal

Final Fantasy VII Remake

Ghost of Tsushima


2021 Game of the Year – It Takes Two

How to Pre-Order It Takes Two Release Date and More Info

2021 Nominees:


Metroid Dread

Psychonauts 2

Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart

Resident Evil Village

Prima Games is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Grant Testa
Grant Testa
Grant Testa is a writer at Prima Games, who specializes in achievement hunting and horror gaming. He is also an avid comic book reader/collector, fantasy footballer, and rock music fanatic. Thousands who have been defeated by Grant in online multiplayer games have cried to themselves, wondering, "How did he get so good?! Why can't I be a gaming demigod like him?" They would probably be surprised to learn that Grant actually inherited his elite gaming skills from his mom, Joann Hansen, one of the speediest stenographers/typists in the nation, (and probably the world). Fun fact: he is also the son of the world’s first “let’s player” and comedy legend, Tim Testa.