Image Credit: Bethesda
Forgot password
Enter the email address you used when you joined and we'll send you instructions to reset your password.
If you used Apple or Google to create your account, this process will create a password for your existing account.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Reset password instructions sent. If you have an account with us, you will receive an email within a few minutes.
Something went wrong. Try again or contact support if the problem persists.
Diablo 4 screenshot of a Nightmare Dungeon
Screenshot by Prima Games.

Diablo 4 Nightmare Dungeon Tiers Explained

Tier 1 is just the start.

Nightmare Dungeons are one of the best late-game activities in Diablo 4, and there is more than one difficulty for them beyond the World Tiers. Our guide will cover all the tiers and how you can access them.

Recommended Videos

What are Nightmare Dungeon Tiers in Diablo 4?

There are 100 Nightmare Dungeon Tiers in Diablo 4 that all have randomized Affixes and rewards for players to collect. To reach higher Tiers, you need to bring Sigil Powder to the Occultist and increase the level of your Sigils. Below you can find all the tiers and the amount of powder needed for each level.

All Nightmare Sigil Tiers in Diablo 4 Listed:

  • Tier 1 – 5 (3 Sigil Powder).
  • Tier 6 – 10 (6 Sigil Powder).
  • Tier 11 – 15 (11 Sigil Powder).
  • Tier 16 – 20 (20 Sigil Powder).
    • Anything Past this point is World Tier 4.
  • Tier 21 – 25 (50 Sigil Powder).
  • Tier 26 – 30 (80 Sigil Powder).
  • Tier 31 – 35 (125 Sigil Powder).
  • Tier 36 – 40 (190 Sigil Powder).
  • Tier 41 – 50 (275 Sigil Powder).
  • Tier 51 – 60 (350 Sigil Powder).
  • Tier 61 – 70 (375 Sigil Powder).
  • Tier 71 – 80 (400 Sigil Powder).
  • Tier 81 – 90 (425 Sigil Powder).
  • Tier 91 – 100 (450 Sigil Powder).

Tier 1 to 20 can be done in the Diablo 4 World Tier 3 setting, but anything after is only available in World Tier 4 and is considered Ancestral. The affixes also get shot up to five per dungeon once you enter the World Tier 4 territory. Getting there is going to take some time though.

Diablo Season 1 Nightmare Dungeons

Dungeon Tiers were adjusted in Diablo 4’s first season. If you played the Tiers at level 70 or higher in the past, then you probably found them much easier going forward. Sigils that were at level 100 felt more like level 70 tiers before Season 1. Season 1 also increased the drop rate of items, rewarding you with more items of higher rarity. And those high-level dungeons will likely see more changes as times goes on.

Diablo Season 2 Nightmare Dungeons

For season 2, the layout of Diablo 4’s Nightmare Dungeons have been heavily revised to allow for easier navigation and less backtracking. Objectives have been removed for a handful of dungeons, only requiring you to defeat the boss, and existing objectives have been placed on the main path to prevent the need for backtracking. Nightmare Dungeons are also now more procedurally generated to make them feel less repetitive, and you can teleport directly to the inside of them to reduce load times.

In addition to layout changes, Diablo 4’s Season 2 Nightmare Dungeons have increased enemy density that provide better XP yield. You’ll also now get Nightmare Sigils upon completion of a dungeon.

What are Diablo 4 Nightmare Sigils?

Nightmare Sigils in Diablo 4 serve as a key of sorts to Nightmare Dungeons. Each one corresponds to a specific dungeon in the game, and consuming a sigil will temporarily turn its corresponding dungeon into a Nightmare Dungeon.

Nightmare Sigils come in varying tiers, dictating the difficulty of the Nightmare Dungeon its attached to. Different tiers will have different affixes both positive and negative and will change the toughness and amount of monsters you encounter. Monster levels will also scale with each tier, increasing by +1 for every tier, starting at a minimum monster level of 54 at tier 1 to a maximum level 154 at tier 100.

How to Get Nightmare Sigils

There are five ways to get Nightmare Sigils in Diablo 4:

  • Complete Whispers of the Dead.
  • Craft them at an Occultist.
  • Complete Nightmare Dungeons.
  • Complete Events.
  • Defeat World Tier III or IV World Bosses.

You will unlock sigil crafting after completing your first Tier 3 Nightmare Dungeon. To get higher-tier Nightmare Sigils in Diablo 4, you’ll need to craft them using plenty of powder, which you can get by salvaging your unwanted lower-tier sigils.

You’ll get your first Nightmare Sigil in Diablo 4 after completing the main questline and the Cathedral of Light Capstone Dungeon in Veteran difficulty. After silencing 10 Whispers in Nightmare difficulty, return to the Tree of Whispers, and you’ll be rewarded with a cache that contains a Nightmare Sigil. Whispers of the Dead (temporary requests from the Tree of Whispers indicated by an icon on the map) will commonly reward you with sigils, and this will likely be your primary way of receiving them.

For those of you who have yet to begin the Nightmare journey, we recommend further checking out our guide on Nightmare Sigils after you get to World Tier 3.

Prima Games is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Daniel Wenerowicz
Daniel Wenerowicz
Dan has been writing gaming guides, news, and features for three years after graduating with a BA in writing . You can find him covering Call of Duty for eternity, action-adventure games, and nearly any other major release.
Image of Seth Lowe
Seth Lowe
Seth has been a writer for Prima Games since 2023. An avid Nintendo lover and a true Pokemon master, surely you'll find him glued to a Game Boy no matter where he is. You can find his previous work at TheGamer.