A number of awards were handed out during The Game Awards 2020, but the biggest one — the one everyone was watching the closest — was Game of the Year. There was heated debate over whether The Last of Us Part II or Ghost of Tsushima would take the crown, and there were people rallying behind Supergiant’s Hades.

Ultimately, it was The Last of Us Part II that won the Game of the Year title. 

The Last of Us Part II Wins Game of the Year at The Game Awards 2020

After a long show packed with exciting announcements from the confirmation that Mass Effect will return to seeing Vin Diesel in ARK 2 (an image we still can’t scrub from our minds) it came down to the final award of the night, Game of the Year.

In the weeks leading up to this eventful day, gamers speculated over which game would win. Of the nominees, three games were brought up most often: The Last of Us Part II, Ghost of Tsushima, and Hades.

To recap, here are all the nominees for Game of the Year at The Game Awards 2020…

  • Ghost of Tsushima
  • Hades
  • Doom Eternal
  • Final Fantasy VII Remake
  • The Last of Us Part II
  • Animal Crossing: New Horizons

As the show rolled on and The Last of Us Part II swept award after award, it was clear that in the end, it was going to grab GOTY, and it did. Online, there have once again been reactions ranging from joy and excitement, to disappointment that other games didn’t win, and everything in between. 

No matter what, it’s a big award to win, and we want to congratulate the team at Naughty Dog on winning Game of the Year for The Last of Us Part II. We can’t wait to see more award-winning stories from the studio in the future.