Resident Evil 7 - How to Start Banned Footage Vol. 1 - Prima Games

Resident Evil 7 – How to Start Banned Footage Vol. 1

by Josh Hawkins

Resident Evil 7 released last week, captivating the horror audience with its return to form as a Resident Evil game. Now, the game has finally received its first piece of DLC. Banned Footage Vol 1 includes two new tapes for players to play through, as well as a new game mode that promises to be tough-as-nails. In this article we’ll show you how to find the Banned Footage Vol. 1 DLC in Resident Evil 7, and how to get started.

How to Download Banned Footage Vol. 1

Before you can dive into the new content, you’re going to have to make sure it is downloaded. Unfortunately, Resident Evil 7 players on Xbox One and PC will have to wait a while longer for the release, as PlayStation 4 has managed to seal a timed-exclusivity deal for the DLC’s release, so only PS4 players will be able to dive into the new content right now.

From the main menu of your PlayStation 4, open up the PlayStation Store and find the Season Pass in the online store. From there you should be able to find the store page for Banned Footage Vol. 1. Choose to download the content, and it should begin installing immediately. If you’re unable to find an option to download the DLC, then it has not released in your region yet, so you’ll have to try again at a later time. According to the Resident Evil 7 website, Banned Footage Vol. 1 will be available worldwide on January 31, so check back around midnight local time.

How to Play Banned Footage Vol. 1

Once you have downloaded the content, you’re going to have to choose a few different options to get started. First, load up Resident Evil 7. Once you arrive at the main menu, scroll down and look for the Extra Content option that is listed between Load Game and More. From here, select Extra Content to bring up another menu that allows you to choose between Banned Footage and Ethan Must Die. To play the new tapes, launch Banned Footage. If you want to try your hand at surviving the horrors of the Baker residence with greater challenges, then click on Ethan Must Die.

Banned Footage Vol. 1 includes two new tapes for players to experience. The first tape, Nightmare, is a new game mode that tasks players with surviving the night against wave after wave of Molded enemies. You’ll be able to unlock upgrades and new weapons, which will help you survive the ever-growing number of enemies.

The second tape, Bedroom, offers a Resident Evil 7 themed escape-the-room challenge. Players will need to do everything they can to escape a bedroom in the Baker house without alerting the residents.

The other new mode added to the game, Ethan Must Die, is a separate mini-game that tasks players with escaping the Baker house, which is completely overhauled with dangerous traps and enemies. It’s set to be one of the most challenging options available to players, and players will want to make sure they complete the main game before diving in.

You can learn more about Ethan Winters and his horrific journey by return to our Resident Evil 7 guide. If you prefer, you can dive right into our guide on how to escape the bedroom in Banned Footage Vol. 1.


Josh Hawkins

Josh has been exploring fantastic worlds and getting lost in video games for as long as he can remember. Starting out on the Super Nintendo with Super Mario World, and ending up in the world of next-generation gaming. He enjoys digging into the story and lore of massive RPGs, as well as getting lost just trying to make that last jump in any platformers he gets pulled into, as well as everything in between. He holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Creative Writing for Entertainment.