League of Legends Spirit Blossom 2020 Spirit Bonds Guide

Get to know your spirit-themed champions with the Spirit Bonds feature.

Spirits are taking over the world of League of Legends right now, as the new Spirit Blossom 2020 event is underway. Until August 24, players will be able to earn event-themed rewards through playing missions and getting milestones via the premium Spirit Blossom Pass. But there’s also another activity players can engage in to earn even more rewards: Spirit Bonds. 

Recommended Videos

Spirit Blossom 2020 Spirit Bonds Guide

Spirit Bonds is a system that sees players interacting with the champion characters relevant to the event, in a manner of speaking. The event is inspired by concepts like folklore, and the new champion skins are based on spirits such as a nine-tailed fox. Players can check out a map featuring the different spirits, and can speak with them to initiate a bond. After some visual novel-like conversations, you can earn favor with the spirits by playing League of Legends.

The currency measuring Spirit Bonds is “Favor.” Favor can be earned via regular matchmaking play, but it can also be rewarded for completing specific tasks. Favor will deepen your Spirit Bonds, open up new dialogue sequences with the spirits, and of course net some in-game rewards. Favor can also be earned by winning or losing games of Summoner’s Rift, ARAM, Nexus Blitz or Team Fight Tactics. That all works for whatever champion you play as, but you can get more Favor playing more specifically.

Related: League of Legends Spirit Blossom 2020 Mission and Rewards Guide

If you play matches using a champion who received a Spirit Blossom skin, you will earn additional Favor for the corresponding spirit. You will get Favor regardless of if you’ve equipped the skin or not, but you’ll get less if you don’t use it. Finally, each champion listed below also have specific tasks you can clear for extra Favor:

  • Thresh
  • Riven
  • Vayne
  • Teemo
  • Cassiopeia
  • Lillia
  • Ahri
  • Yasuo
  • Kindred

Now, what does the Favor do besides unlocking the story scenes? You will earn a new bond rank for each champion spirit for every 25 Favor you earn for them. Rank C gives you a Champion Shard, Rank B gives you 15 Tokens, Rank A gives you their Champion Icon, and Rank S gets you another 15 Tokens. Once you hit Rank S with a spirit, you get an additional Spirit Bond goal to chase. At this point you’ll earn Spirit Blossom Growth points, which translate into spirit petals. If you earn a whopping 320 Spirit Blossom Growth points and give five petals to your chosen spirit, you’ll form an unbreakable bond, get a special emote, and unlock a special epilogue when the event ends.

In sum, the Spirit Blossom 2020 Spirit Bonds system adds a whole new layer to this event, and the extra story sequences no doubt enhance the experience with some good, old-fashioned character development. Are you enjoying the event? Are you brave enough to shoot for S rank for all ten champions? Let us know over on Facebook and Twitter!


Prima Games is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Lucas White
Lucas White
Lucas plays a lot of videogames. Sometimes he enjoys one. His favs include Dragon Quest, SaGa and Mystery Dungeon. You can find him on Twitter @HokutoNoLucas. Wanna send an email? Shoot it to [email protected].