League of Legends Ranked Tiers Guide - Prima Games

League of Legends Ranked Tiers Guide

by Lucas White

League of Legends has been around what seems like forever, and has become a gaming staple that probably isn’t going anywhere. And that means that in addition to the people playing regularly or competitively, there’s going to be a constant influx of new players. Being a free to play, esports-friendly game, the best way to mark your personal progress as a player is through the game’s ranking system. To that end, there are probably plenty of players out there still trying to figure out what the different ranks and tiers are in League of Legends, to know what to strive for.

League of Legends Ranked Tiers Guide

If you’re considering taking the League of Legends plunge, you’ll want to know how everything works. Ranking is seasonal, meaning that at the end of the in-game season, you’ll receive rewards at the end based on how far up the ladder you climb. That ladder comprises nine tiers total, each of which has four divisions you have to pass to move to the next tier. Ranks are governed by League Points, or LP, which add up to your overall Matchmaking Rank, or MMR. LP is gained from game wins of course, with the payout increasing based on your MMR compared to your opponent team if you win. 

Related: Riot Games Delays Several Patches To Fight Against Crunch and Give Team Time Off

The nine tiers are as follows:

  • Iron
  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Master
  • Grandmaster
  • Challenger

The divisions within each tier are descending, so you start at 4 and grind up to 1. Once you hit that top division, you can get promoted to the next tier if you win a specific number of matches. At the end of the season, you’ll be rewarded with in-game items (skins, etc) based on your overall performance. 

Speaking of performance, you can’t just boot up League of Legends for the first time and jump into ranked. Not only do you have to get to player level 30, you also need to own at least 16 champions. Then you can enter the mode and play some placement matches. Depending on how you do there, you’ll be placed in a starting tier. The vast majority of players are in Silver or Gold rank, so don’t feel too bad if you have to start out in Iron or Bronze. Either way you’ll have your work cut out for you.

Still on the fence about joining the League of Legends party? Or are you cruising up the rankings already and trying to get a friend to join you? Let us know where you are in your LoL journey over at the Prima Games Facebook and Twitter channels!


You may also like