How to Upgrade the Dire and Calamity Skins in Fortnite - Prima Games

How to Upgrade the Dire and Calamity Skins in Fortnite

by Larryn Bell

Progressive skins have become a regular part of the Battle Pass over the past few seasons, and Season 6 is no different. The Calamity and Dire skins are two of the new progressive outfits that players can unlock as part of the Season 6 Battle Pass for Fortnite. These skins have multiple stages and can be upgraded by playing the game and leveling up throughout the season. In this guide, we’ll explain how to get and upgrade both the Calamity skin and Dire skin in Fortnite as well as how to unlock their different styles so that you can equip these unique outfits as soon as possible.

It’s important to note that progressive skins in Fortnite are not tied to your season level. Instead, all you need to do is achieve certain XP milestones to complete the individual Calamity and Dire skin challenges to unlock new parts of each outfit. This also applies to the Ragnarok and Drift skins from last season, so if you haven’t completed those outfits yet, don’t worry. You can continue to upgrade those outfits as well by earning XP throughout Season 6.  

Calamity Skin Challenges

The Calamity skin is a Tier 1 skin that becomes available as soon as you purchase the Season 6 Battle Pass for Fortnite Battle Royale. As with the Drift skin last season, you will start out with the base Calamity outfit, which consists of a cowgirl in a tank top and cutoff shorts. Calamity is a Legendary outfit and is part of the Western Wilds set in Fortnite.

As you play Fortnite Battle Royale and earn Season XP, you will unlock new upgrades for the Calamity skin that change the outfit’s overall appearance into more of a Wild West style. New outfit pieces can be equipped within the Locker.

The Calamity challenges are available to players who have purchased the Season 6 Battle Pass. Here’s how the Calamity challenge XP milestones break down:

  1. Base Calamity Skin (Tier 1)
  2. Gain 20,000 XP (1st Unlock)
  3. Gain 50,000 XP (2nd Unlock)
  4. Gain 90,000 XP (3rd Unlock)
  5. Gain 140,000 XP (4th Unlock)
  6. Gain 200,000 XP (5th Unlock)

Along with the individual outfit parts, players can also unlock new colors for the Calamity outfit by completing 10, 25, and 50 different challenges in Fortnite. Completing five of the Calamity Challenges will unlock the Reckoning Harvesting Tool (Pickaxe).

Dire Skin Challenges

Similar to the Ragnarok and Omega skins from previous seasons, the Dire skin is a Tier 100 outfit that is unlocked upon achieving the final tier of the Season 6 Battle Pass in Fortnite. Dire is a Legendary outfit and is part of the Full Moon set.

You must first level up every tier of the Battle Pass before you can begin making progress toward the Dire outfit set. Once you reach Tier 100 of the Battle Pass, the base version of the Dire skin will become available.

Dire is a progressive skin as well, which means it has multiple stages to unlock. In the case of the Dire outfit, the Dire skin starts out as a man, and then gradually transforms into a werewolf with each unlock. The upgrades for the Dire outfit represent the various stages of his transformation. 

After unlocking the base Dire skin at Tier 100, you must continue playing the game and earn Season XP to upgrade the Dire outfit. The XP milestones for the Dire outfit set are as follows:

  1. Base Dire Skin (Tier 100)
  2. Gain 30,000 XP (1st Unlock)
  3. Gain 70,000 XP (2nd Unlock)
  4. Gain 120,000 XP (3rd Unlock)
  5. Gain 180,000 XP (4th Unlock)
  6. Gain 250,000 XP (5th Unlock)

Like the Calamity skin, the Dire skin has multiple color variations to unlock as well. New colors are unlocked for the Dire outfit upon completing 10, 20, 40, and 60 different challenges throughout Season 6.

To earn the necessary Season XP to upgrade the Dire and Calamity skins in Fortnite, make sure to stay on top of the weekly challenges as they are revealed each week. We will have guides for the tougher weekly challenges of Fortnite Season 6, so be sure to check back here each week for details.

You may also like