Archetypes Remnant 2
Image via Gearbox.

How Many Archetypes are in Remnant 2? – Answered

More than meets the eye.

Archetypes are just the Remnant 2 naming for classes that we all expect to see in a game where co-op and plenty of looted are expected together. Everyone has to pick one Archetype as the game begins, but there are more available than what you initially have access to, and I will list them all in this guide.

Recommended Videos

How Many Archetypes are in Remnant 2?

There are 10 different Archetypes that players can use in Remnant 2. Only four of them are available by default when you start the game. There are technically five if you have any of the pre-order bonuses. However, you can eventually get the Gunslinger without the bonus. If you wait though, you have to work with the starting four.

Later on, you will unlock other Archetypes in Remnant 2, such as the Invader and the Explorer. Both of these offer up some unique ways to jump back into the Adventure modes for even more loot than before.

All Archetypes in Remnant 2 Listed

With up to five different Archetypes available at the start of Remnant 2, that leaves another five to be unlocked as you progress in your own save. Below you can find all 10 classes in the game and a brief description of their play style.

Remnant 2 Archetypes Listed:

  • Hunter (Starting) – Long range is key with precision damage.
  • Handler (Starting) – Utility-based class with a dog companion.
  • Medic (Starting) – Support class with healing abilities for teammates or solo play.
  • Challenger (Starting) – A bruiser type with melee and close range weapons in mind.
  • Gunslinger – The classic cowboy that uses as much ammo as possible within accurate shots.
  • Alchemist – Another class with range, but it’s specifically meant to utilize buffs.
  • Explorer – A utility Archetype that is meant for exploring the map.
  • Summoner – Using minions and regenerating health are the main traits.
  • Engineer – This class is based on utilizing turrets and larger weapons for damage.
  • Invader – Mobility and illusion are the key factors for this Remnant 2 class.

Related: Remnant 2: How to Use the Nightweaver Stone Doll

Some Archetypes, such as the Explorer, can’t be unlocked until you finish the main campaign within Remnant 2. So, if you want as many options as possible in the game, I recommend running through the main story as fast as you can.

If you want the Invader Archetype, then check out our guide on how to get the Dreamcatcher in Remnant 2.

Prima Games is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Daniel Wenerowicz
Daniel Wenerowicz
Dan has been writing gaming guides, news, and features for three years after graduating with a BA in writing . You can find him covering Call of Duty for eternity, action-adventure games, and nearly any other major release.