Halo Wars 2 - How to Level up Blitz Cards - Prima Games

Halo Wars 2 – How to Level up Blitz Cards

by Josh Hawkins

Blitz is an entirely new game mode introduced in Halo Wars 2 and it brings a lot of changes to the basic real-time strategy formula. In Blitz players can unlock new cards, which can then be used to spawn unit into the match. This makes the gameplay much faster-paced, allowing you to rely simply on your cards instead of various buildings that can spawn units. Players can also level up their Blitz cards, which will allow them to become stronger and more efficient on the battlefield. In this article we’ll teach you everything you need to know about leveling up Blitz cards in Halo Wars 2 so that you can dominate the battlefield.

How to Level up Blitz Cards

Leveling up Blitz cards is easier than one might think. You won’t need to meet any tough requirements, or win a certain amount of battles. All you’ll need to do to level up your Blitz cards is unlock duplicates of those cards.

In Blitz, cards are level up based on how many of that card you currently own. Since only one of any card can be added to a deck, you don’t really have a need for duplicate cards. You’ll still find them, though, which might not be very appealing to some users. Don’t fret, though, as upgrading your cards is actually a very viable tactic in Blitz, as it means those cards will have more to offer for their energy cost.

Whenever you receive a duplicate of a card you already have, the duplicate will automatically be transfused into your existing card. This will then go into leveling up that particular card. Card levels can cost different amounts, though, so we have provided a handle table below to help you figure out how many additional cards you’ll need to find to reach that level.

Once a card reaches level 7 it is considered “Tournament Ready” at this point the additional stats with each level become minimal, making it less worthwhile to upgrade them. Unfortunately you won’t have any control over how often you get duplicate cards, so it really is a game of chance.

Here is a full list of the requirements needed to reach levels 1-6.

  • Level 1 – No duplicates cards required.
  • Level 2 – 2 duplicate cards required.
  • Level 3 – 3 duplicate cards required.
  • Level 4 – 4 duplicate cards required.
  • Level 5 – 5 duplicate cards required.
  • Level 6 – 5 duplicate cards required. 

If you look at the list above, you can see that a total of 20 cards of the same unit are required to reach “Tournament Ready” status. The benefits of leveling up each card varies depending on the card itself, but overall units will receive stat boosts that allow them to become stronger in their intended role.

You can learn more about Microsoft’s latest console RTS by returning to our Halo Wars 2 guide, where you’ll find articles on topics like how to play Blitz and how to get every Skull in Halo Wars 2.