Diablo 4: Codex of Power and Aspects Explained - Prima Games

Diablo 4: Codex of Power and Aspects Explained

A go-to way to make your abilities stronger

by Madison Benson
Diablo 4 Codex of Power and Aspects Explained

There are many different ways you can strengthen your Diablo 4 character. Upgrading gear and improving your abilities are the two main ways, but the system gets surprisingly in-depth the more you dive into it. To truly understand just how powerful your character can become, you will want to check out your Codex of Power! If you would like to learn more, continue reading to find a detailed explanation of what the Codex of Power and Aspects are in Diablo 4.

Related: What is the Max Level in Diablo 4?

Diablo 4 – Codex of Power and Aspects Explained

The Codex of Power is a section on your Collections, which appears between Map and Social when you are in the map menu. The collections page displays your completed challenges and the Codex, housing all the Aspects you have gathered throughout your playthrough.

What Are Aspects?

Have you ever looked at a piece of Legendary gear and noticed orange text at the bottom of the item’s description? This is the item’s current Aspect, and you can change this by unlocking more and imprinting them onto your equipment!

Aspects are passive effects that improve a specific skill or ability type. Every class in Diablo 4 has their own set of Aspects ranging from increasing a skill’s critical strike chance or its base damage. There are also five Aspect types: Defensive, Offensive, Resource, Utility and Mobility.

You can unlock more Aspects by completing dungeons around Sanctuary. When you hover over one on your map, you will find a Rewards section under the dungeon name, followed by the Aspect and its perks. Finishing a dungeon rewards you with the Aspect, which you can view in your Codex of Power.

Diablo 4 Dungeon Aspects

Related: What is Overpower Damage in Diablo 4? – Answered

Alternatively, if you have Legendary gear with an Aspect you want, you can head to an Occultist and extract it for a gold fee. In the process, you will destroy the original item, gaining the Aspect in the “Aspects” part of your inventory.

Imprinting Aspects Onto Your Gear

To use your unlocked Aspects and equip them onto your gear, you will have to visit an Occultist and learn how to imprint. The first Occultist you will encounter is Demyan in Kyovashad, near the town’s Jeweler. In exchange for Veiled Crystals and a chunk of gold, you can imprint your chosen Aspect onto your equipment.

Imprinting Aspects at the Occultist Diablo 4

If you want to use an extracted Aspect instead, just head into your inventory’s “Aspects” part and select one. Doing this consumes the Aspect, imprinting it onto your chosen gear.

Diablo 4 will be available on June 6, 2023, on PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X|S.

About The Author

Madison Benson

Madison is a writer who has played video games for over twenty years. When she isn't playing games on her PC, she's hanging out with her dogs and rabbits.

More Stories by Madison Benson