Destiny 2 - How to Unlock Subclasses - Prima Games

Destiny 2 – How to Unlock Subclasses

by Josh Hawkins

When you first start off your journey in Destiny 2, you’re only going to be able to make use of one Subclass. This single subclass will help you get through the majority of the campaign’s missions, but it might not be your most favored subclass, and you might want to look into getting a different one that feels more like what you’re used to. Each class in Destiny 2 can have a total of three different subclasses, and in this article we’ll tell you how to unlock new subclasses in Destiny 2 so you can set your Guardian up the way you like.

How to Unlock a Second Subclass

Unlocking your second subclass in Destiny 2 is actually very easy to do, but it will require a good deal of work, as well as some grinding. First, you’re going to need to make your way through the game until you reach level 9. Having trouble grinding out those levels? Check out our guide on how to level up fast in Destiny 2 to get all the pointers you need to hit level 9 as quickly as possible.

Once you’ve hit level 9, make your way out to the European Dead Zone (EDZ) and start taking out high profile enemies. These enemies are often found with yellow bars above their heads, and they contain several different tiers of health—which is marked by bars that separate their health bar into different parts. When these enemies are killed, they will drop loot chests, which you will be able to open to possible find a Relic, which will allow you to start unlocking your second subclass.

Once you have the Relic, open up your Character Screen to see what Subclass it corresponds to. You’ll also need to pay attention to the description, as it will advise you on how best to charge up the Relic and unlock the power contained within. From what we’ve seen so far, most of the Relics will want players to complete Public Events and fight alongside other players. This is pretty easy to do—especially now that Public Events show up on the map, so head into the EDZ and get started. Once you fill the bar up to 100%, the new subclass will unlock, and you can make your way to the next one.

How to Unlock the Third Subclass

Now that you’ve unlocked your second subclass, you’re probably wondering how you go about unlocking the third. Unlocking this subclass will work very much the same way that unlocking the second subclass did, though you’ll need to hit level 14 before you can find the Relic. Once you get the relic, head out to Public Events and take out enemies with other players. Fully charging the Relic will unlock a mission that sends you back to the Shard of the Traveler, where you’ll turn in the Relic and unlock the power within to obtain your third subclass.

With all three subclasses unlocked, be sure to head back over to our Destiny 2 guide, where you’ll find an assortment of other helpful guides like how to get Bright Engrams in Destiny 2.