G4 is planning to cancel both Attack of the Show and X-Play. The final episodes of the long running programs will conclude late in 2012.

Attack of the Show's final shows will feature a rotating lineup of guest co-hosts joining regular hots Candace Bailey and Sara Underwood, such as John Barrowman, Michael Ian Black, Josh Myers, Paul Scheer, Rob Huebel and Horatio Sanz. X-Play will also likely have guest hosts of their own to accompany Morgan Webb and Blair Herter.

Expect to see a series of farewell episodes over the next two months, with personalities and former hosts returning. X-Play will look back at classic moments, such as its past coverage from the floor of the E3 convention – commonplace now, but something the video game show helped pioneer.

These cancellations hint at possibilities that the station, once ostensibly aimed at gamers, might team up with a magazine like Esquire or GQ for more general men's content. The new channel could be re-branded “G4Men” but the decision over nomenclature has not yet been finalized.