Destiny Expansion I: The Dark Below Releases December 9 - Prima Games

Destiny Expansion I: The Dark Below Releases December 9

by Prima Games Staff

Just when I thought I was out… they pull me back in.

Most gamers knew that content for Activision and Bungie’s Destiny was on the way, but details were cloudy. That changed this morning with the official announcement that Expansion I: The Dark Below will debut on December 9, individually at $19.99 and as part of the Destiny Season Pass that sells for $34.99.

Here’s the bad news: it does not include a new planet. With that out of the way, on to the good stuff.

While vague, you will receive new weapons, armor and gear, and this extends to Legendary and Exotic items. We don’t know more beyond that. In addition, Bungie raised the level cap to 32 while providing five more Bounty slots.

New quests and missions do take place on the moon, and center around The Hive’s plan to unleash a god named Crota to essentially destroy Earth. Your job is to find a new character simply known as Eris in the Tower, whereupon which you’ll learn more info and embark upon three missions.

If multiplayer is your thing, the cooperative Strike The Will of Crota pits you and your friends against the creature Omnigul, who is busy raising The Hive army to do all sorts of nasty things. 

Then we have the new competitive arenas in The Crucible:

  • Pantheon: Set deep within the Black Garden in an ancient Vex temple that features Vex-designed landscapes and tight corridors.
  • Skyshock: An old interplanetary defense array that offers both vehicle and infantry engagements.
  • The Cauldron: An abandoned Hive ritual site that offers close-quarter combat.

Finally, The Dark Below comes with a six-player raid, Crota’s End, that takes place in Hellmouth. PlayStation users, meanwhile, benefit from an exclusive Strike, The Undying Mind.

We don’t have much in the way of media, which means an official trailer should appear in the near future.

How to find the Gold Chests in Destiny!

You may also like