Final Fantasy XIV: All New Realm Reborn Flying Areas

The starting regions of FF XIV have been retrofitted to support flying mounts!

Final Fantasy XIV’s latest major update has rolled out, bringing the game to version 5.3 and adding a ton of new content and quality of life improvements to the table. One of the biggest changes that isn’t wholly new content is a restructuring initiative for A Realm Reborn, Final Fantasy XIV’s first storyline. Not only have several unimportant quests been altered or removed, but the team at Square Enix has also retrofitted flying into the Realm Reborn section of Eorzea.

Recommended Videos

All the New Realm Reborn Flying Areas in Final Fantasy XIV

Since flight is now incorporated into Final Fantasy XIV much earlier than before, the quest “I Believe I Can Fly” has been removed from the game entirely. Presumably that’s because that quest becomes redundant if players can already use flight before they get to that point. Instead, the unlock condition for flight has been added to the “Ultimate Weapon” quest, which is the last story quest in the initial Realm Reborn release. 

Related: How to Change Your Final Fantasy XIV Title Screen

Once you enable flight, any mounts you have with the ability to fly will be able to do so in designated areas around Eorzea. As an aside, for players who have already unlocked flight the old way and spawn into these areas upon logging in, they won’t be able to fly until they change areas. The new list of flying-compatible areas in Final Fantasy XIV is as follows:

  • Middle La Noscea
  • Lower La Noscea
  • Eastern La Noscea
  • Western La Noscea
  • Upper La Noscea
  • Outer La Noscea
  • Central Shroud
  • East Shroud
  • South Shroud
  • North Shroud
  • Western Thanalan
  • Central Thanalan
  • Eastern Thanalan
  • Southern Thanalan
  • Northern Thanalan
  • Coerthas Central Highlands
  • Mor Dhona

Now that you can fly around in the Realm Reborn geography, getting around those spaces will be drastically different. Not only will you be able to travel around much faster, you’ll also be able to get looks at the landscape players never have before. This has already created new opportunities for great screenshots with Final Fantasy XIV’s photo tools, as players have discovered nooks and crannies in that corner of the world that were previously inaccessible.

Are you excited to saddle up and take to the skies in a region of Eorzea that was never possible before? Do you like to take in-game photos, or are you simply happy you can get around the starting areas a bit easier? Let us know what you think of this update over on the Prima games Facebook and Twitter pages!


Prima Games is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Lucas White
Lucas White
Lucas plays a lot of videogames. Sometimes he enjoys one. His favs include Dragon Quest, SaGa and Mystery Dungeon. You can find him on Twitter @HokutoNoLucas. Wanna send an email? Shoot it to [email protected].