Last week, Microsoft dropped pricing and release date info for the Xbox Series X and Xbox Series X.

The news was exciting not only for Xbox fans but Sony fans as well as it means we’ll finally get to find out the PS5’s price. Well, hopefully. Fingers crossed. 

Fortunately, we won’t have to wait too much longer for fresh details as Sony has officially scheduled a PlayStation 5 Showcase for Wednesday, September 16!

PS5 Showcase Set For September 16 

The PlayStation 5 Showcase where we’ll (likely) find out the price and release date for the console is scheduled to take place on Wednesday, September 16 at 1 p.m. (PDT), 4 p.m. (ET), 9 p.m. (BST), 10 p.m. (CEST), and 5 a.m. (JST) on September 15. 

On the PlayStation blog, it’s noted that the showcase will be approximately 40 minutes long and will offer a look at launch titles for the PS5. The PlayStation 5 Showcase will air on both YouTube and Twitch this Wednesday at the aforementioned times. 

“Before PlayStation 5 launches this holiday, we wanted to give you one more look at some of the great games coming to PS5 at launch (and beyond!). Our next digital showcase will weigh in at around 40 minutes, and feature updates on the latest titles from Worldwide Studios and our world-class development partners.” 

Wording like “one more look” really makes it sound like this will be the final showcase prior to the console’s release. It makes sense given how close we are to the “Holiday 2020” release window.

Additionally, there have been rumors that the PS5's release date is November 17, two months after the PS5 showcase on September 16. Rumors also suggest that pre-orders for the PS5 will go live on September 25.

We can’t confirm any of these rumors, but they’re certainly compelling. We’re excited to hopefully hear the official release date for the PS5 on Wednesday, along with pre-order information and a price if Sony is feeling spicy enough to share those details. 

We’re also looking forward to seeing more footage of PS5 launch titles like Spider-Man Miles Morales and Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart.

While they're farther off in the future, it’s possible we may see additional trailers for upcoming Sony exclusives like Horizon Forbidden West, Demon’s Souls, and Project Athia as well. 

No matter what, the 40-minute PS5 Showcase is sure to be a wild ride. One that you won’t want to miss when it goes live on Wednesday, September 16 on Twitch and YouTube