It’s been a while since we’ve heard from Sony and what its plans for the PlayStation 5 are moving forward. Luckily, that’s about to change as a new PlayStation Showcase event has been announced. 

PlayStation 5 Showcase Event Set For September 9, Will be Roughly 40 Minutes Long

This information comes from the PlayStation Blog which posted this morning the announcement of a new event next Thursday, September 9, and 4 pm EST. You can read the official announcement below. 

“Tune in next Thursday, September 9 at 1:00pm Pacific Time / 9:00pm BST / 10:00pm CEST for a look into the future of PS5. The Showcase will weigh in at around 40 minutes and include updates from PlayStation Studios and some of the industry’s most imaginative developers, for games releasing this holiday and beyond. And stick around after the presentation to get more updates from some of the studio teams featured in the Showcase.”

Related: Horizon Forbidden West Gets a Confirmed Release Date

What could Sony be showing? Well, just last week we found out that Horizon Forbidden West had been pushed to February 2022. So it’s possible we will see some more of that game to tide fans over until the new release date. 

As for other PlayStation Studios, we’re not sure what we could see. Maybe a tease of the next Bluepoint game? Perhaps one of the “imaginative developers” mentioned in the above post could mean a look at Final Fantasy XVI, which was originally announced at the PlayStation 5 event last year. 

Anyway, we could speculate for days about what could be shown in the roughly 40-minute presentation, but one thing we know that will not be there is the next generation of PSVR.

The PlayStation Blog post mentions specifically “PlayStation’s next generation of VR won’t make an appearance this time.” 

Sorry to the PSVR fans out there looking for more information, it seems we’re still going to have to wait on that one.

What do you hope to see from the PlayStation 5 Showcase event? Be sure to let us know on the official Prima Games Twitter and Facebook pages. 

You can watch the PlayStation event here.