In an exciting announcement this morning, Guerrilla Games shared information about an upcoming State of Play event for Horizon Forbidden West. On Thursday, May 27, gamers can tune in to see 14 minutes of new gameplay, with footage captured directly from the PlayStation 5. 

Horizon Forbidden West Gameplay Reveal Happening on May 27

If you’re like us and have Horizon Forbidden West high on your list of anticipated 2021 games, you’ll be excited to hear that a State of Play event is happening this Thursday, during which Guerrilla Games will show off 14 minutes of new gameplay. 

The State of Play event is set to run for approximately 20 minutes according to a post on the PlayStation Blog, so it sounds like we’ll get 6 minutes of other content. Whether this will contain surprises or additional information about the game remains to be seen.

All that’s been confirmed thus far is 14 minutes of new gameplay that’ll offer a closer look at Horizon Forbidden West, the areas you’ll explore, and of course, Aloy. For a more concise description that runs through what to expect from Thursday’s State of Play, here are the details that were shared on the PlayStation Blog

“Nearly eleven months ago we showed you the very first glimpse of Horizon Forbidden West during the PlayStation 5 Showcase, and now we’re excited to show more! This Thursday, May 27 join us on a very special journey into new and uncharted lands.

Starting at 9AM Pacific Time / 5PM BST / 6PM CEST, please tune in at your leisure for a uniquely crafted countdown towards the main State of Play event, which starts at 2PM Pacific Time / 10PM BST / 11PM CEST.

During this State of Play, we will debut the Horizon Forbidden West gameplay reveal! In this 20-minute exclusive segment, you’ll be seeing about 14 minutes of brand new in-game action featuring our heroic protagonist Aloy, all captured directly on PlayStation 5. 

This reveal has been a true team effort and we’re very excited to show you what we have in store. Whether you’ve been with us and Aloy since Horizon Zero Dawn or are only just getting to know this incredible world, we want to share this huge milestone with you and cannot wait to see your favorite moments and reactions.

Please join us on Twitch or YouTube at 9AM PDT / 5PM BST / 6PM CEST for the special State of Play Pre-Show, and at 2PM PDT / 10PM BST / 11PM CEST for the Horizon Forbidden West gameplay reveal.”

If you want to catch 14 minutes of new Horizon Forbidden West gameplay, be sure to catch Sony’s State of Play event on Thursday, May 27 at 2 p.m. (PDT). Also be sure to check back as we’ll be covering the State of Play here at Prima Games.

While we wait for Thursday, we’re eager to hear your thoughts on the announcement. Are you looking forward to seeing more Horizon Forbidden West? Do you think the game’s release date will be announced soon?

Let us know on our social media channels including Facebook and Twitter

Related: Horizon Forbidden West Will Have "Virtually" No Load Times, Other New Details Revealed